

ROSSMOOR/LOS ALAMITOS AREA SEWER DISTRICT

Board of Directors:

Jim Bell William C. Poe Joel M. Rattner Charles E. Sylvia Linda Habermehl

Legal Council:

Woodruff, Spardlin & Smart

Engineer:

October 31, 2011

Boyle Engineering Corp.

Hon. Thomas J. Borris, Presiding Judge

General Manager:

Orange County Superior Court 700 Civic Center Drive West Santa Ana, CA 92701

Susan E. Bell

Re:

Response of Rossmoor-Los Alamitos Area Sewer District to 2010/2011 Orange County Grand Jury Report, "Compensation Survey of Water and Sanitation

Districts."

Dear Honorable Judge Borris:

The Rossmoor-Los Alamitos Area Sewer District appreciates the opportunity to review and respond to the above-referenced report. With respect to the report findings, the District generally agrees with findings F.1 and F.2. With respect to recommendations R.1 and R.2, the District does provide limited information on its website, http://www.rlasd.org. The Board considered the cost of providing additional information and regular updates on the District's website. However, being that the District is small and funded exclusively from its minute share of property taxes, the costs of hiring additional consultants to maintain the District's website were not justified by the benefits that might be provided to a few interested parties. Note further that the District employs a part-time general manager and no other employees. Furthermore, District taxpayers are able to travel a very short distance from their homes to obtain all information they might desire from the District during regular office hours provided by the General Manager for a more personal and human experience. Finally, compensation information has been made available electronically via the State Controller's website since 2009.

Should you or the members of the Grand Jury have any questions or require additional information, please do not hesitate to contact our General Manager, Susan Bell, or drop in during office hours, Mondays through Fridays, from 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Respectfully,

Linda Habermehl Board President